MADISON,Wis. – A ban on the baiting and feeding of white-tailed deer, enacted by the state Natural Resources Board under emergency rule authority on Sept. 11, 2003, was once again extended for 60 days by the legislature’s Joint Committee on Review of Administrative Rules (JCRAR). The rule, which currently affects 24 counties, will remain in effect through June 6, 2004.

The legislative committee took the action on March 31 at the request of the Department of Natural Resources.

The emergency rule, which prohibits baiting and feeding of deer in those counties determined to be at the highest risk for transmittance and establishment of Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) and Bovine TB, had originally been set to expire on April 7. A maximum of two 60-day extensions can be granted on an emergency rule. This is the second and final extension.

Counties included in the ban include: Adams, Calumet, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Grant, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, Lafayette, Manitowoc, Marquette, Portage, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Vernon, Walworth, Waukesha, and Waushara.

A map of affected counties (Adobe® Acrobat® Reader® is needed to view and print this portable document format [PDF] file. To download Adobe Acrobat for free, please see the DNR Download Page.) and rule specifics are on the department’s “Chronic Wasting Disease in Wisconsin” Web site.

Article lookup by year